7 months old 

They amaze me everyday. Olives just went from being on her tummy to sitting up today. It took her a minute but she did it all on her own. She stayed in the sitting position for a few minutes then had a crash landing on a soft stuffed dog. She was so proud and excited of her accomplishment. Brie was completely oblivious in her own little world. 

They are practicing crawling. Being up on all fours and rocking back and fourth. They have taken a small crawl forward but quickly fall. They can scoot backwards with no problem. 

The changing table has now turned into a game of hold the baby down. They love to twist and turn or scoot back with the heels of their feet. The battle is on every time a diaper is being changed. 

They eat everything. The favorite is still oatmeal. Brie tries to grab the bowl and spoon to feed herself. She flings her arms and catches me off guard. Food lands on both of us. Olives just waits with her mouth open wide for the next bite. If she waits too long the feet start kicking. 

The sipping cups are still a work in progress. They grab the handles with all of their mite but haven’t learned to tilt their head back. Frustration occurs until helping hands assist. 

Starting yesterday they decided to throw me off my game by changing their schedule. It happened again today. Both days they didn’t want to take their short late afternoon nap. Instead they whined, rubbed their eyes and cried off and on. And after the bedtime bottle they still don’t want to go down at 8:30-9PM. They are just fighting sleep. I hope this ends soon. 

We went on our first overnight trip to Twain Harte. The girls usually do great in the car but after an hour they were restless. I don’t blame them. The ride is 2.5 hrs from the house. They “sang” in chorus for part of the ride up and back home. On the way home I moved to the back seat to sit in between them and the crying stopped. Them just seeing me made them happy. I’m lucky I barely fit. Now let’s talk about the night. It was rough. They weren’t in their cribs that they are familiar with. Eventually the tiredness won and they slept in the pack n plays. I think we will wait awhile until the next trip. I packed the entire house for a 24 hr trip. It was worth it, just a lot of work. 

I’m now down 51 pounds from pre-IVF weight. I’m still exercising daily and eating healthy. I have a love/hate relationship with the scale. 

Today we walked and raised money for Relay of Life American Cancer Society. We raised $410 in a week and walked 2 miles. After the 8th lap at the track the girls decided it was time to leave for food & a nap. We skidaddled before a public melt down started. 

3 thoughts on “7 months old 

  1. AAAAHHHH! I screamed so loud that I almost woke up my napping one! They are SO darned cute, mama! I love reading about their different personality traits or the stuff they do individually that makes them so uniquely beautiful! Wow, mama…they are so cute. So beautiful. Congrats on the weight loss too, that is incredible…what’s your weight loss goal, if you don’t mind me asking please? Back to the angels…Look at those cheeky expressions! Are they sassy at all?

    • Hey Mama! Thanks for the compliments. I don’t have a specific goal in mind. I want to feel healthy and strong again. My body has changed so I’m not sure of a size or weight.
      Olives (Olivia the smaller one) is full of sass & bossiness. Brie is the funny & smiley one. They keep me on my toes and are learning new things often. Hope you and your little one are doing great!

      • They are too adorable, these girls! I like your idea of not being number-specific because that just comes with too much pressure! So long as you are healthy because I know toting these two around, you shall get strong! I am already feeling like I am getting Michelle Obama arms from carrying his car seat around, rocking him to sleep…:-) If you get time, please post more about your girls!!

Leave a comment